The Princelet Street Synagogue's origins lie the foundation of the Loyal United Friends Friendly Society. The Society's name in Hebrew is Chevras Nidvath Chen. This organisation was begun in 1862 by Polish immigrants living in Spitalfields. A place of worship was provided for its members. Between 1862 and 1870 they met in Fashion Street, Leadenhall Street and Mansell Street in turn.
In 1870, 18 Princes Street (off Brick Lane) was converted into a Synagogue. In 1893 the name of the street changed to Princelet Street. The synagogue was then known as the 'Princes (now Princelet) Street Synagogue'. In 1916 the name changed to the Princelet Street Synagogue. In 1921 the houses in the street were re-numbered, number 18 becoming number 19.
In 1970 the synagogue joined with the Bethnal Green Synagogue. In 1980 the Federation of Synagogues became the owner of the freehold. They later sold it to the Spitalfields Historic Buildings Trust.
The images available from this page cover 100 marriages which took place at the synagogue. The marriage register is part of the archive of the synagogue. Explore catalogue descriptions for further details (ref: W/PRI).
The index is by Jerome Farrell.